Music TV & Film

Vicarious Euphoria: Ranking Favorites from the ‘Heartstopper’ Soundtrack for Pride Month

“I loved seeing these queer teens live out their love stories on screen. But at the same time, I also felt so sad that I never got to do the same. That time in my life is gone. *POOF.* It’s disappeared, it’s over, and I’ll never get it back. So it also makes me deeply glad that we have shows like Heartstopper to show the beauty of the queer experience.”

– Hanna Smith, “Sounding Out with Izzy”

In the latest episode of “Sounding Out with Izzy,” Izzy is joined by special guest Hanna Smith, a journalist and child psychology expert, to discuss the beloved webcomic-turned-Netflix-teen-romance Heartstopper, and why it’s the perfect representation that they never got to have as teenagers.


Izzy’s Favorite Songs from the Heartstopper Soundtrack:

  1. Baby Queen – Want Me
  2. Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete the Kisses
  3. Frankie Cosmos – Sappho
  4. Orla Gartland – Why Am I Like This
  5. Smoothboi Ezra – My Own Person
  6. Rina Sawayama – LUCID
  7. CHVRCHES – Clearest Blue
  8. Shura – What’s It Gonna Be
  9. Matilda Mann – Paper Mache World
  10. chloe moriondo – I Want to Be with You
  11. Sir Babygirl – Flirting with Her
  12. Sunflower Bean – Moment in the Sun
  13. Chairlift – I Belong in Your Arms
Album Review Music

Pretty Sick Ventures Into Shoegaze Territory on New EP

Singer-songwriter, model, and bassist Sabrina Fuentes wears many hats. She started the NYC-based new age grunge band Pretty Sick when she was only thirteen, capturing the attention of audiences all around the globe with her darkly sardonic vocal range, dirty grunge-laced basslines, and songs about being caught up in toxic relationships, with heavy instrumental accompaniment from a multitude of rotating band members. This time she is joined by Wade Oates of the Virgins on guitar and Austin Williamson from Onyx Collective on drums.

Last year, Pretty Sick released their debut EP, Deep Divine, through the UK indie label Dirty Hit. Earlier this week, they released their follow-up EP, Come Down. And if Deep Divine was meant to encapsulate being caught up in the intoxicating rapture of self-destructive youth and toxic love, then Come Down represents the dreary hangover of the aftermath.

Fuentes’ uninhibited lead vocals, Wade Oates’ crisp, feedback-heavy guitar solos and Austin Williamson’s tom-heavy drum fills are guaranteed to grab every listener by the throat. Songs like “Bet My Blood” and “Devil in Me”—with their crunchy guitar solos and vocals that sound like they’ve been run through Courtney Love’s blender—are heavily contrasted with slower cuts where Fuentes emits these soft “ooohs” over pedal-heavy distortion.

“I have a real taste for pop music, and my songwriting style has a real pop music sensibility,” Fuentes said in a recent interview with Alternative Press. This is no more apparent than in the lead single, “Dumb,” an infectious earworm with a hook that is eerily similar to “Hanging Around” by the Cardigans.

Fuentes’ vocal range alternates between the airy, mystic coos of My Bloody Valentine’s Bilinda Butcher on “Pillbug” and “Bare,” the unrestrained trills of Babes in Toyland’s Kat Bjelland on “She,” and the grating screams of Mia Zapata from the Gits on “Self Control.” “Pillbug” could easily pass for a B-side off of My Bloody Valentine’s Isn’t Anything, which is the last thing I would have expected from a grunge band. And that only adds to the EP’s allure.

Come Down as a whole is an amalgamation of reflections on love lost, and what it’s like to grow up in New York—a laborious and emotionally-draining undertaking that both prepares you for the crushing weight of heartbreak and simultaneously leaves an even nastier bruise when a relationship doesn’t work out. And it sounds magnificent.